Minnesota judges win election

November 5, 2020. All five Minnesota judges facing opponents won election this week. 123 judges were up for election on Tuesday’s ballot. (Most Minnesota judges take office by appointment by the Governor, then have to run for election for six year terms.) Only five races were contested. Minnesota Supreme Court Justice Paul Thissen defeated perennial candidate Michelle MacDonald 59% – 41%. The four challenged District Court judges also won election: Judge Joseph Carter in the First Judicial District, Judge Pat Diamond in the Second Judicial District, and Judges Charles Halverson and Jana Austad in the Ninth Judicial District. George served on the campaign committees for Justice Thissen and Judge Carter.